Kinetic Typography mini-project – Aims for the future

I was pleased with the outcome of my kinetic typography adaptation of the trailer for Gravity, but after reviewing the project and looking at some additional inspiration I have some goals I’d like to reach next time I attempt a similar project in After Effects.

I’d like to increase the ambition of my next project beyond just the movement of text on the screen, next time I will look in to manipulating the camera in 3D space in After Effects to achieve a different dimension of motion from just animating the text, and additionally look in to using and animating images in the scene to support the typography. Furthermore I’ll look in to applying effects to the background of the scene to create an appropriate atmosphere depending on the source material I base the typography on.

An example of a piece of kinetic typography using 3D camera motion, images and additional effects as I previously stated is shown below:

Leave a Reply

